American University of Central Asia - AUCA - Board of Trustees

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

DAVID LAKHDHIR

CHAIR - BOARD OF TRUSTEES

DAVID LAKHDHIR has, for the past 30 years, been a partner in the international law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP.  Since 2002, he has been one of the partners in charge of the firm’s office in London, and from 1993-97 he was partner-in-charge of its office in Tokyo. He has particular expertise in cross-border corporate acquisitions, investments, and joint ventures, including in the financial, media, semiconductor, power, and electronics sectors. 

Mr. Lakhdhir also serves as a Director of Human Rights Watch, Inc. and is the Chair of its Asia Advisory Committee and Co-Chair of its London Committee. 

An honors graduate of both Harvard College, and Harvard Law School, he served as a Teaching Fellow in the Government Department and as a Law Tutor at Harvard, and after graduation, spent a year as a Visiting Scholar at the Indian Law Institute in New Delhi. 

Mr. Lakhdhir was also the Chair of the International Law Committee of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York from 1999 to 2001 and has served on a number of other commissions and study groups.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b147

JONATHAN BECKER

BOARD MEMBER

JONATHAN BECKER is the Director of the Center for Civic Engagement at Bard College, where he also serves as Vice President and Dean of International Affairs and Civic Engagement, Associate Professor of Political Studies, and Director of the Global and International Studies Program. Through Bard, Dr. Becker provides support to several of Bard’s international partner universities including Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences/ Smolny College (St. Petersburg, Russia), Al-Quds University (Palestine), and AUCA, where he has served on the board since 2008.

He is the author of Soviet and Russian Press Coverage of the United States: Press, Politics and Identity in Transition (1999, 2002) and articles and chapters in a variety of publications, including the European Journal of Communication, Journalism and Mass Communications Quarterly, and the Globalist, among others. 

Previously, he served as Assistant Vice President of the Central European University in Budapest and the European Director of the Civic Education Project. He has also served as co-chair of the Higher Education Group of the US/Russian Civil Society Partnership Program and as a consultant to the National Intelligence Council on its Global Trends 2020 project. 

Dr. Becker earned his BA from McGill University and his D. Phil from St. Antony’s College, Oxford.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b90

AIJAN CHYNYBAEVA

BOARD MEMBER

AIJAN CHYNYBAEVA has over 15 years of business career and international exposure.

Mrs. Chynybaeva is the member and former President of the Rotary Club of Bishkek charitable organization (2007), a member of the Non-governmental Organization Women’s Forum “Kurak” (2011), and the Chairman of the Public Association of Women of Kyrgyzstan “Kurak” (2017). She actively promotes positive thinking and motivation as well as supports youth startup projects as a member of the Council of the Association of Social Entrepreneurship, a mentor of the ASP School, mentor and trainer of the “I Invest in Kyrgyzstan” Republican Youth Project, and the initiator of the movement “Taza Issyk-Kul”.

Mrs. Chynybaeva is also the founder of the Eco-Demi Public Fund which has carried out the most global cleaning campaigns throughout the country since 2015. She serves as the Ambassador of the international movement “Let’s Do it World” in Kyrgyzstan when Mrs. Chynybaeva became representative of the International Organization “Let’s Do it World” in Central Asia in 2021. And she also holds membership in other local and international organizations, including

  • 2016 - 2020 Honorary Consul of the Kingdom of Norway in the Kyrgyz Republic
  • 2017 - 2020 President of the Consuls Club of the Kyrgyz Republic
  • 2018 - Ambassador of Woman Expo Kazakhstan
  • 2020-2021 Vice Mayor of Bishkek for Social Development

In April 2019, Mrs. Chynybaeva was awarded the Excellent Leadership Award and recognized as an example of outstanding leadership at the Women Economic Forum in Delhi, India. In 2019, she received the state award from Prime Minister Mr. Abylgaziev for her contributions to women empowerment in business and received an appreciation letter for creating and supplying with medicine local hospitals fighting against COVID-19. Under the leadership of Mrs. Chynybaeva Kyrgyzstan was announced as the winner (1st place) of the World Clean Up day among 150 countries. She has served on the board of AUCA since 2012.

 

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b150

ALMAS CHUKIN

BOARD MEMBER

ALMAS CHUKIN is a Partner at Visor Kazakhstan, one of Central Asia’s largest private equity investment companies. Mr. Chukin has extensive experience in banking and investment, working in executive positions at Halyk Bank, Compass Asset Management, and Kazyna Capital ManagementOver the recent years, he was supervising Visor’s investments in various sectors of the economy – telecoms, pharma, retail, and lately with concentration mostly on renewable energy development. Before moving to the private sector in 1997, he held senior positions in the Ministry of Economy and Finance and served as the Charge d’Affaires at the Kyrgyz Embassy in the United States. 

He started his career as an Associate Professor of political economy at Kyrgyz State University after completing undergraduate and post-graduate studies at Moscow State University. 

Mr. Chukin has served on the AUCA board of trustees since its inception in 1998 when the Kyrgyz-American Department of the National University was transformed into the independent American University in Kyrgyzstan and later the American University of Central Asia. He is a key supporter of AUCA’s campus development project.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b91

ASSET ABDUALIYEV

BOARD MEMBER

ASSET ABDUALIYEV is an international management consultant. He worked as an advisor to Almaty’s mayor on innovation and urban development. He identified and supported over 200 innovative projects and startups as part of Central Asia’s first “smart city” project.

He also coordinated the launch and design of five major public spaces in Almaty. Previously, he held leadership roles with the organizing committee of the 2017 Almaty Winter Universiade.

Mr. Abdualiyev graduated with an MPA from Harvard Kennedy School and an MSc in Management from Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b240

CHOLPONBEK JUMASHUKUROV

BOARD MEMBER

CHOLPONBEK JUMASHUKUROV has been a Senior Managing Partner of Highland Capital in Kyrgyzstan since 2015. His prior work experience includes his investment management experience at Farallon Capital Management in the USA, management consulting experience at McKinsey & Co in Russia, auditing experience at ATCF Consulting in Kyrgyzstan, and an internship at Goldman Sachs in the USA. 

Mr. Jumashukurov received a Bachelor’s of Business Administration degree from the American University of Central Asia (1998) and an MBA degree from Harvard Business School (2008). He is also a co-founder of the ProKG professionals association in Kyrgyzstan.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b501

GRAHAM O’DONOGHUE

BOARD MEMBER

GRAHAM O’DONOGHUE is an entrepreneur and lawyer with experience in government, commercial and public law, logistics operations, and commodities trading. From 2013 to 2015, he served as President and CEO for Mina Group and was responsible for all global operations. Previously, he has served as a lawyer and consultant advising multi-national companies, family offices, emerging enterprises, and entrepreneurs across a broad range of industry sectors and geographies. He has also served as a board director and officer for portfolio companies of his venture capital clients, operating in a range of industries from telecommunications security to luxury goods and commodities trading. 

Previously, Mr. O’Donoghue was an attorney at the New York law firm Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, where he specialized in complex commercial litigation and transnational disputes.

From 2007 to 2009, he served in The White House as Associate Counsel to the President of the United States and, previously, Deputy Associate Counsel. In that capacity, Mr. O’Donoghue represented the White House in numerous investigations and other sensitive matters before the U.S. Congress and other federal government agencies. He also provided legal counsel to the White House staff on a range of matters.

He served as a judicial clerk to the Honorable Laurence H. Silberman of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Mr. O’Donoghue holds a law degree from Columbia Law School and a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy from Harvard University.

Mr. O’Donoghue also sits on the board of the New Generation Academy at the American University of Central Asia, which offers promising high school graduates from Central Asia the opportunity to prepare for university admission through an intensive one-year curriculum.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b205

LEONARD BENARDO

BOARD MEMBER

LEONARD BENARDO is Executive Vice President of the Open Society Foundations. He was formerly regional director for Eurasia and Director of the Open Society Fellowship.

Mr. Benardo began his work with the Open Society Foundations at the Soros Foundation Moscow. At the time, he was researching a dissertation on why new Russian trade unions were not enacting new representative organs, but rather reproducing former welfare-distributive bodies familiar to the former USSR. American political science in the mid-1990 was, in equal parts, moving further toward behavioral rationality and economic models and away from questions of culture and ideology. He leaped at the opportunity to work for the Foundation full-time. 

Mr. Benardo soon took over the full Russia portfolio at Open Society and extended his responsibilities to include Central and Eastern Europe. His brief required extensive grantmaking, oversight of the myriad foundations in the region, and general strategic advice and counsel on the Foundation’s activities. 

In 2008, with a concern of complacency setting in at the Foundation, Mr. Benardo proposed the creation of a Fellowship program that would identify persons working on areas that might be orthogonal to, or contrary from, the Foundation’s cherished conceits. The program identified individuals whose thinking added dynamism and critical edge sorely needed at OSF. Mr. Benardo was the founding director of the Open Society Fellowship program, which expanded in 2016 to include three additional initiatives focused on individuals.

In the autumn of 2017, Mr. Benardo became Vice President of OSF and was made Executive Vice President earlier this year. In his current role, Benardo oversees the vast range of geographic programming at the Foundation, participates in its broader strategic and intellectual trajectory, and helps manage the complex institution. Additionally, he has helped spearhead the development of programming for the new Open Society University Network and looks after its financial health.

Mr. Benardo sits on the boards of Bard College, the American University of Central Asia, Kyrgyzstan, and the European Humanities University, Lithuania.

Mr. Benardo holds a BA in history from the University of Michigan and a graduate degree in political science from Columbia University. His writing has appeared, among other places, in the New York Times, the New York Review of Books, the International Herald Tribune, and Bookforum. He is the co-author of two books: Brooklyn by Name: How the Neighborhoods, Streets, Parks, Bridges, and More Got Their Names, and Citizen-in-Chief: The Second Lives of the American Presidents. Benardo also writes frequently with his great friend Ivan Krastev.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b480

LIVIU MATEI

BOARD MEMBER

LIVIU MATEI is the Provost of Central European University and a Professor of Higher Education Policy. He taught at universities in Europe and the U.S., consulted extensively in the area of higher education policy, and conducted applied policy research projects for the World Bank, UNESCO, OSCE, the Council of Europe, the European Commission, and other international organizations (intergovernmental and non-governmental), national authorities and universities from Europe and Asia. 

Mr. Matei is a member of the Board of Trustees of the American University of Central Asia and serves on the editorial boards of the Internationalisation of Higher Education Journal and the European Journal of Higher Education. He studied philosophy and psychology at Babeș-Bolyai University Cluj, and Sociology of Higher Education at Bucharest University, Romania. He received his Ph.D. from the latter. He benefited from fellowships at the Institut Supérieur de Formation Sociale et de Communication, Bruxelles, The New School for Social Research, Université Paris X Nanterre, Université de Savoie, the Salzburg Seminar and the Maison des Sciences de l’Homme.

His primary areas of expertise include university governance, funding, internationalization of higher education, academic freedom and university autonomy, quality assurance. He is the founder of the Global Observatory on Academic Freedom.

 

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b204

NAZIRA BEISHENALIEVA

BOARD MEMBER

NAZIRA BEISHENALIEVA the Chairperson of the Board of Directors of CJSC "Bank of Asia," where she oversees the activities of the Board in the formation of bank policy and the execution of bank strategy. Previously, Mrs. Beishenalieva was a Chairperson of Bishkek Business Club, a business association that promotes and supports the interests of small and medium businesses in the country. In addition, she was President of the Rotary Club of Bishkek for the 2013-2014 term and was responsible for various charity projects of the club. For the last seven years, Mrs. Beishenalieva has engaged in educational, cultural, and social charity projects of the country. 

In 2013, she received awards from the Mayor of the City of Bishkek and the Ministry of Social Protection for her contributions to social and economic life. Mrs. Beishenalieva holds a BA in Journalism and Public Relations from the American University of Central Asia (1998), a degree in Accounting, Analysis, and Audit from Moscow Institute of Entrepreneurship and Law, Bishkek Branch (2004), and a Degree in Law from the Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University (2005). She also graduated from the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School (2014).

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b367

SCOTT HORTON

BOARD MEMBER

SCOTT HORTON is the director of the Andrei Sakharov Foundation, president of the International League for Human Rights, chair of the U.S.-China Education Foundation, director of the International Center for Not-for-Profit Law, and a trustee of AUCA. 

Mr. Horton has been a partner of Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler LLP since 1990. He also works as an adjunct law faculty at Columbia Law School. Mr. Horton has served on the AUCA board since 1999.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b92

STANISLAV KARPOVICH

BOARD MEMBER

STANISLAV KARPOVICH was in the first graduating class of AUCA in 1997. Since then, he has excelled in business as a top manager in several consulting and investment companies. Currently, he is the General Director of Silk Road Investments and Deputy Managing Director, FNT Consultants.

Mr. Karpovich is the Chairman of the Board of Enactus Kyrgyzstan (http://www.enactus.org/), as well as the Past-President of the Rotary Club of Bishkek (http://www.rotary.org/). He has served on the board of AUCA since 2004.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b93

WILLIAM H. NEWTON-SMITH

BOARD MEMBER

WILLIAM H. NEWTON-SMITH has had a distinguished academic and non-profit career. For over 35 years, he was a professor of philosophy at Balliol College, Oxford University. Dr. Newton-Smith also served as chair of the board of the Open Society Foundation (London) and was a senior advisor to the Open Society network of foundations for over 20 years.

Dr. Newton-Smith sits on several other education and non-profit boards and currently lives in Wales with his wife, Nancy, where they have a lavender farm. See www.welshlavender.com.  Dr. Newton-Smith has served on the board of AUCA since 2005.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/en/trustees/#b88

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028
AUCA Contacts

Американский Университет в Центральной Азии - АУЦА - Совет попечителей

СОВЕТ ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ДЭВИД ЛАХДИР

ГЛАВА СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ДЭВИД ЛАХДИР последние 30 лет является партнером международной юридической фирмы Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP.  С 2002 года он является одним из партнеров, возглавляющих офис фирмы в Лондоне, а в 1993-97 годах был партнером-руководителем офиса в Токио. Обладает значительным опытом в области трансграничных корпоративных приобретений, инвестиций и совместных предприятий, в том числе в финансовом, медийном, полупроводниковом, энергетическом и электронном секторах. 

Г-н Лахдхир также является директором Human Rights Watch, Inc. и председателем ее Азиатского консультативного комитета и сопредседателем ее Лондонского комитета. 

Г-н Лахдхир с отличием окончил Гарвардский колледж и Гарвардскую школу права, работал преподавателем в Государственном департаменте и тьютором по праву в Гарварде, а после окончания учебы провел год в качестве приглашенного ученого в Индийском юридическом институте в Нью-Дели. 

Г-н Лахдхир также был председателем Комитета по международному праву Ассоциации адвокатов города Нью-Йорка с 1999 по 2001 год и работал в ряде других комиссий и исследовательских групп.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b147

ДЖОНАТАН БЕКЕР

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ДЖОНАТАН БЕКЕР является директором Центра гражданской активности в Бард-колледже, где он также занимает должность вице-президента и декана по международным делам и гражданской активности, доцента политических исследований и директора программы глобальных и международных исследований. Через Бард-колледж доктор Беккер оказывает поддержку нескольким международным университетам-партнерам Барда, включая Факультет свободных искусств и наук/Смольный колледж (Санкт-Петербург, Россия), Университет Аль-Кудс (Палестина) и АУЦА, в Совете которого он состоит с 2008 года.

Он является автором книги Soviet and Russian Press Coverage of the United States: Press, Politics and Identity in Transition (1999, 2002), а также статей и глав в различных изданиях, включая European Journal of Communication, Journalism and Mass Communications Quarterly, Globalist и др. 

Ранее он занимал должность помощника Вице-президента Центрально-Европейского университета в Будапеште и европейского директора проекта «Гражданское образование».  Он также был сопредседателем группы по высшему образованию Программы партнерства гражданского общества США и России и консультантом Национального разведывательного совета по проекту «Глобальные тенденции 2020». 

Доктор Бекер получил степень бакалавра в Университете Макгилла и степень доктора философии в Колледже Святого Антония, Оксфорд.

 

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b90

АЙЖАН ЧЫНЫБАЕВА

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

АЙДЖАН ЧЫНЫБАЕВА имеет более 15 лет деловой карьеры и международного опыта.

Г-жа Чыныбаева является членом и бывшим президентом благотворительной организации «Ротари Клуб Бишкек» (2007 г.), членом неправительственной организации «Женский форум «Курак» (2011 г.), председателем Общественного объединения женщин Кыргызстана «Курак» (2017 г.). Она активно пропагандирует позитивное мышление и мотивацию, а также поддерживает молодежные стартап-проекты как член Совета Ассоциации социального предпринимательства, ментор Школы ASP, ментор и тренер Республиканского молодежного проекта «Я инвестирую в Кыргызстан», инициатор движения «Таза Иссык-Куль».

Г-жа Чыныбаева также является основателем общественного фонда «Эко-Деми», который с 2015 года проводит самые глобальные акции по уборке территорий по всей стране. Она является послом международного движения «Let's Do it World» в Кыргызстане, став представителем международной организации «Let's Do it World» в Центральной Азии в 2021 году. Она также является членом других местных и международных организаций, в том числе

  • 2016 - 2020 Почетный консул Королевства Норвегия в Кыргызской Республике
  • 2017 - 2020 Президент Клуба консулов Кыргызской Республики
  • 2018 - Посол Woman Expo Kazakhstan
  • 2020-2021 Вице-мэр Бишкека по вопросам социального развития

В апреле 2019 года на Женском экономическом форуме в Дели (Индия) г-жа Чыныбаева была удостоена награды «Отличное лидерство» и признана примером выдающегося лидера. В 2019 году она получила государственную награду от премьер-министра г-на Абылгазиева за свой вклад в расширение прав и возможностей женщин в бизнесе и благодарственное письмо за создание и обеспечение лекарствами местных больниц, борющихся с COVID-19. Под руководством г-жи Чыныбаевой Кыргызстан был объявлен победителем (1-е место) Всемирного дня чистоты среди 150 стран. С 2012 года она является членом правления АУЦА.

 

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b150

АЛМАС ЧУКИН

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

АЛМАС ЧУКИН является управляющим партнером компании Visor Kazakhstan, одной из крупнейших компаний по прямым инвестициям в Центральной Азии. Г-н Чукин обладает обширным опытом работы в банковской и инвестиционной сфере, занимая руководящие должности в Halyk Bank, Compass Asset Management и Kazyna Capital. До ухода из государственной сферы в 1997 году он работал в Министерстве экономики и финансов, а также в качестве поверенного в делах Посольства Кыргызстана в США.   

Г-н Чукин начал свою карьеру в качестве доцента кафедры политической экономии Кыргызского государственного университета после окончания бакалавриата и аспирантуры Московского государственного университета.

Г-н Чукин входит в состав Совета попечителей АУЦА с момента его основания в 1998 году, когда Кыргызско-Американский факультет Национального университета был преобразован в независимый Американский университет в Кыргызстане, а затем в Американский Университет в Центральной Азии. Он является ключевым сторонником проекта нового кампуса АУЦА.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b91

АСЕТ АБДУАЛИЕВ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

АССЕТ АБДУАЛИЕВ - международный консультант по управлению. Работал советником мэра Алматы по вопросам инноваций и городского развития. Он выявил и поддержал более 200 инновационных проектов и стартапов в рамках первого в Центральной Азии проекта «Умный город».

Он также координировал запуск и дизайн пяти крупных общественных пространств в Алматы. Ранее он занимал руководящие должности в организационном комитете зимней Универсиады 2017 года в Алматы.

Г-н Абдуалиев получил степень MPA в Гарвардской школе Кеннеди и степень магистра менеджмента в Стэнфордской высшей школе бизнеса.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b240

ЧОЛПОНБЕК ЖУМАШУКУРОВ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ЧОЛПОНБЕК ЖУМАШУКУРОВ является старшим управляющим партнером Highland Capital в Кыргызстане с 2015 года. В его предыдущий опыт работы входит: управление инвестициями в Farallon Capital Management в США, управленческое консультирование в McKinsey & Co в России, аудит в ATCF Consulting в Кыргызстане, а также стажировка в Goldman Sachs в США.

Г-н Жумашукуров получил степень бакалавра делового администрирования в Американском Университете в Центральной Азии (1998 г.) и степень MBA в Гарвардской школе бизнеса (2008 г.). Он также является соучредителем ассоциации профессионалов ProKG в Кыргызстане.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b501

ГРЭМ О’ДОНАХЬЮ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ГРЭМ О'ДОНОХЬЮ - предприниматель и юрист с опытом работы в сфере государственного управления, коммерческого и публичного права, логистических операций и торговли сырьевыми товарами. С 2013 по 2015 год он занимал должность президента и генерального директора компании Mina Group и отвечал за все глобальные операции. Ранее он работал юристом и консультантом, консультируя мультинациональные компании, семейные офисы, развивающиеся предприятия и предпринимателей в самых разных отраслях промышленности и географических регионах. Он также работал в качестве директора совета директоров и должностного лица портфельных компаний своих венчурных клиентов, работающих в различных отраслях - от телекоммуникационной безопасности до торговли предметами роскоши и сырьевыми товарами.

Ранее г-н О'Донохью был адвокатом в нью-йоркской юридической фирме Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, где специализировался в сложных коммерческих судебных процессах и транснациональных спорах.

С 2007 по 2009 год он работал в Белом доме в качестве помощника советника Президента США, а до этого - заместителя помощника советника. В этой должности г-н О'Донохью представлял Белый дом в многочисленных расследованиях и других деликатных делах в Конгрессе США и других федеральных государственных учреждениях. Он также предоставлял юридические консультации сотрудникам Белого дома по целому ряду вопросов.

Работал судебным клерком при достопочтенном Лоуренсе Х. Зильбермане из Апелляционного суда США по округу Колумбия.

Имеет степень юриста в Колумбийской юридической школе и степень бакалавра философии в Гарвардском университете.

Г-н О'Донохью также входит в Совет директоров Академии нового поколения при Американском Университете в Центральной Азии, которая предлагает перспективным выпускникам средних школ из Центральной Азии возможность подготовиться к поступлению в Университет в рамках интенсивной годичной учебной программы.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b205

ЛЕОНАРД БЕНАРДО

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ЛЕОНАРД БЕНАРДО - исполнительный вице-президент Фонда «Открытое общество» (OSF). Ранее он был региональным директором по Евразии и директором стипендии Открытого общества.

Г-н Бенардо начал свою работу в фондах «Открытое общество» в Московском фонде Сороса. В то время он писал диссертацию о том, почему новые российские профсоюзы не создают новые представительные органы, а скорее воспроизводят прежние органы распределения благосостояния, знакомые по бывшему СССР. Американская политология в середине 1990-х годов в равной степени двигалась в сторону поведенческой рациональности и экономических моделей и уклонялась от вопросов культуры и идеологии. Он ухватился за возможность работать в Фонде полный рабочий день.

Вскоре г-н Бенардо полностью возглавил портфель по России в «Открытом обществе» и расширил круг своих обязанностей, включив в него Центральную и Восточную Европу. В его обязанности входило предоставление обширных грантов, надзор за деятельностью огромного количества фондов в регионе, а также общие стратегические рекомендации и советы по деятельности Фонда.

В 2008 году, когда в Фонде возникло чувство самоуспокоенности, г-н Бенардо предложил создать программу стипендий. Эта программа выявляла бы людей, работающих в областях, которые могли быть ортогональны или оспаривать заветные идеи Фонда. Программа выявляла людей, чье мышление придавало динамизм и критичность, столь необходимые OSF. Г-н Бенардо был директором-основателем программы «Стипендии Открытого общества», которая в 2016 году расширилась и включила в себя три дополнительные инициативы, ориентированные на отдельных людей.

Осенью 2017 года г-н Бенардо стал Вице-президентом OSF, а в начале этого года был назначен исполнительным Вице-президентом. В своем нынешнем качестве Бенардо курирует широкий спектр географических программ Фонда, участвует в его более широком стратегическом и интеллектуальном направлении и помогает управлять сложным институтом. Кроме того, он помог возглавить разработку программ для новой Сети университетов «Открытое общество» и следит за ее финансовым состоянием.

Г-н Бенардо входит в состав Советов директоров Бард-колледжа, Американского Университета в Центральной Азии, Кыргызстан, и Европейского гуманитарного университета, Литва.  

Г-н Бенардо имеет степень бакалавра истории Мичиганского университета и степень магистра политологии Колумбийского университета. Его статьи публиковались, в частности, в New York Times, New York Review of Books, International Herald Tribune и Bookforum. Он является соавтором двух книг: Brooklyn by Name: How the Neighborhoods, Streets, Parks, Bridges, and More Got Their Names, и Citizen-in-Chief: The Second Lives of the American Presidents. Бенардо также часто пишет в соавторстве со своим большим другом Иваном Крастевым.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b480

ЛИВИУ МАТЕЙ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

ЛИВИУ МАТЕЙ - провост Центрально-Европейского университета и профессор политики высшего образования. Он преподавал в университетах Европы и США, много консультировал в области политики высшего образования и проводил прикладные исследовательские проекты в области политики для Всемирного банка, ЮНЕСКО, ОБСЕ, Совета Европы, Европейской комиссии и других международных организаций (межправительственных и неправительственных), национальных органов власти и университетов Европы и Азии.   

Г-н Матей является членом Совета попечителей Американского Университета в Центральной Азии и входит в состав редакционных коллегий журнала «Интернационализация высшего образования» и Европейского журнала высшего образования. Он изучал философию и психологию в Университете Бабеш-Бойяи в Клуже и социологию высшего образования в Бухарестском университете, Румыния. В последнем университете он получил степень доктора философии. Он получал стипендии в Высшем институте социального образования и коммуникации в Брюсселе, Новой школе социальных исследований, Университете Париж X Нантер, Университете Савойи, Зальцбургском семинаре (the Salzburg Seminar) и Доме наук о человеке (Maison des Sciences de l’Homme).

Основные области его компетенции включают управление университетами, финансирование, интернационализацию высшего образования, академическую свободу и автономию университетов, обеспечение качества. Он является основателем Глобальной обсерватории по академической свободе.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b204

НАЗИРА БЕЙШЕНАЛИЕВА

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

НАЗИРА БЕЙШЕНАЛИЕВА является председателем Совета директоров ЗАО «Банк Азии», где курирует деятельность Совета директоров по формированию политики банка и исполнению стратегии банка. Ранее г-жа Бейшеналиева была председателем Бишкекского бизнес-клуба - бизнес-ассоциации, которая занимается продвижением и поддержкой интересов малого и среднего бизнеса в стране. Кроме того, она была президентом «Ротари-клуб» Бишкека в течение 2013-2014 годов и отвечала за различные благотворительные проекты клуба. В течение последних семи лет г-жа Бейшеналиева участвует в образовательных, культурных и социальных благотворительных проектах страны.

В 2013 году она получила награды от мэра города Бишкек и Министерства социальной защиты населения за свой вклад в социально-экономическую жизнь. Г-жа Бейшеналиева имеет степень бакалавра в области журналистики и связей с общественностью Американского Университета в Центральной Азии (1998 г.), степень в области бухгалтерского учета, анализа и аудита Московского института предпринимательства и права, Бишкекский филиал (2004 г.), и степень в области права Кыргызско-Российского Славянского университета (2005 г.). Она также окончила программу продвинутого менеджмента в Гарвардской школе бизнеса (2014 г.).

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b367

СКОТТ ХОРТОН

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

СКОТТ ХОРТОН - директор Фонда Андрея Сахарова, президент Международной лиги за права человека, председатель Фонда образования США-Китай, директор Международного центра некоммерческого права, попечитель АУЦА.

Г-н Хортон является партнером компании Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler LLP с 1990 года. Он также работает адъюнктом Юридического факультета Колумбийской юридической школы. Г-н Хортон входит в состав Совета АУЦА с 1999 года.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b92

СТАНИСЛАВ КАРПОВИЧ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

СТАНИСЛАВ КАРПОВИЧ был в первом выпуске АУЦА в 1997 году. С тех пор он преуспел в бизнесе в качестве топ-менеджера в нескольких консалтинговых и инвестиционных компаниях. В настоящее время он является генеральным директором Silk Road Investments и заместителем управляющего директора FNT Consultants.

Г-н Карпович является председателем правления Enactus Kyrgyzstan (http://www.enactus.org/), а также бывшим президентом Ротари-клуба Бишкека (http://www.rotary.org/). Он является членом Совета АУЦА с 2004 года.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b93

УИЛЬЯМ НЬЮТОН-СМИТ

ЧЛЕН СОВЕТА ПОПЕЧИТЕЛЕЙ

УИЛЬЯМ Х. НЬЮТОН-СМИТ сделал выдающуюся академическую и некоммерческую карьеру. Более 35 лет он был профессором философии в Баллиол-колледже Оксфордского университета. Доктор Ньютон-Смит также был председателем правления Фонда «Открытое общество» (Лондон) и более 20 лет являлся старшим советником сети Фондов «Открытое общество».

Доктор Ньютон-Смит входит в состав нескольких других советов директоров образовательных и некоммерческих организаций. В настоящее время он живет в Уэльсе со своей женой Нэнси, где у них есть лавандовая ферма. См. www.welshlavender.com.  Доктор Ньютон-Смит входит в Совет АУЦА с 2005 года.

Link to this block: https://auca.kg/ru/trustees/#b88

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028