Libraries and Access to Knowledge: AUCA hosts 2019 EIFL General Assembly

Libraries and Access to Knowledge: AUCA hosts 2019 EIFL General Assembly

August 6, 2019


On August 8 – 10, 2019, AUCA will host the 2019 General Assembly of the EIFL Consortium that will bring together 70 members of the EIFL library network from over 30 countries to discuss open access, academic resources and publishing, digital research management, copyright, and digital literacy.

Electronic Information for Libraries (EIFL) founded in 2000, is an international consortium that works with libraries to enable access to knowledge in developing and transition countries to support sustainable development.  EIFL works in collaboration with libraries in 53 countries in Africa, Asia Pacific, Europe, and Latin America.  EIFL’s core programs include licensing of electronic resources; copyright and intellectual property; open access and public library innovations. EIFL works with university libraries to strengthen human capacity and information-resource infrastructure to support education, learning, and research.  

Kyrgyzstan’s university and public libraries receive tremendous benefits from the EIFL membership, including a free and low-cost subscription to online databases, professional development, advocacy, and grant support.  AUCA librarians are actively involved with EIFL serving as the Country Coordinator and Electronic Resources Coordinator for Kyrgyzstan.

AUCA is proud to welcome participants of the 2019 EIFL General Assembly.   

<< go to news list

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028