A Roundtable on Environmental Migration

Events

A Roundtable on Environmental Migration

September 12, 2013

On September 13, 2013, the Tian Shan Policy Center at the American University of Central Asia (TSPC@AUCA, https://www.auca.kg/en/tspc/) held a roundtable on  "Environmental degradation and migration: establishing a dialogue and awareness building in Kyrgyzstan" (AUCA' Small Conference Hall - Room 315). The purpose of the event was to bring together experts and practitioners from government, non-government, international and research organizations working in the field of environment and migration in Kyrgyzstan, to increase awareness, identify problem areas in the field of environmental migration in this country and develop recommendations.

 

The territory of Kyrgyzstan is the most dangerous area in Central Asia in geological terms and has more than 20 types of hazardous natural processes that cause natural disasters such as earthquakes, landslides, floods, rockfalls, avalanches, etc. According to the Ministry of Emergency Situations of the Kyrgyz Republic, of all disasters in the country, floods account for 30%, landslides - 16%, technogeneous disasters - 10%, earthquakes - 9%, and other meteorological situations - 9%.  Annually, seismologists record about 3,000 earthquakes in the territory of Kyrgyzstan, dozens of them, as a rule, being destructive to homes and buildings. More than a half of the country's territory is subject to the descent of snow avalanches that create emergency situations on the mountain roads. More than 5,000 landslides are considered to be active in Kyrgyzstan today. About 509 settlements have been or may be affected by the landslides and more than 10,000 families live in the houses under high risk.

 

Of the 10.7mn hectares of agricultural land, more than 88% have been recognized, according to the State Agency for Environment Protection and Forestry under the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic, as degraded and susceptible to desertification. Three-quarters of the country's arable land fund has been subjected to soil salinization, and more than half of it has been exposed to the processes of water and wind erosion. Almost half of the pasture lands have been classified as degraded in terms of vegetation and soil condition.

 

Experts increasingly recognize that environmental disasters may lead to displacement of people who find themselves trapped in economically conditions. Thus, migration processes in Kyrgyzstan have a strong environmental factor, since environmental issues affect migration, and the movement of large groups of people adversely affects the lives of local communities. The uniqueness of the environmental migration is in that, quite often, it is not by choice, but forced, when social networks that have been built over the years get destroyed, livelihood strategies that have been accumulated throughout generations become meaningless, and the culture that has been built on tribal identity and unity disappears.

 

Organizers of the round table attempted to raise these and other environmental migration issues during the Roundtable discussion. International experts made their presentations on the situation in other Central Asian countries and practices addressing environmental migration issues in countries throughout the world.

 

For more information on this Roundtable, please contact  Ainura Asamidinova, Program Manager for Migration and Social Protection of TSPC/AAUCA, by calling: office - (0132) 664598 ext. 276, mobile - 0777 869186, 0556 869187, or by e-mail:asamidinova_a@auca.kg.

<< go to news list


Phone: +996 (312) 915000 ext. 326, 327

Email: tspc@auca.kg

Address: 7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street, Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

 

FAQ


American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Круглый стол по экологической миграции

События

Круглый стол по экологической миграции

12 сентября 2013

Тянь Шаньский аналитический центр при Американском университете в Центральной Азии (ТАЦ АУЦА, https://www.auca.kg/ru/tspc/) провел 13 сентября 2013 г. круглый стол «Экологическая деградация и миграция: установление диалога и повышение осведомленности в Кыргызстане» (Малый конференц-зал АУЦА № 315). Целью мероприятия было объединить экспертов и практиков государственных, неправительственных, международных, исследовательских организаций, работающих в области экологии и миграции в Кыргызстане, повысить осведомленность, определить проблемные зоны в сфере экологической миграции в нашей стране и разработать рекомендации.

 

Территория Кыргызстана является геологически самой опасной территорией в Центральной Азии и подвергается более 20 видам опасных естественных процессов, которые являются причиной стихийных бедствий таких, как землетрясения, оползни, наводнения, камнепады, сход снежных лавин и т.д. Согласно Министерству чрезвычайных ситуаций КР, 30% всех бедствий являются наводнения, 16% оползней, техногенных бедствий 10%, землетрясений 9% и других метеорологических ситуаций 9%.  Ежегодно сейсмологи регистрируют около 3000 землетрясений на территории Кыргызстана, несколько десятков из них являются, как правило, разрушительными для домов и зданий. Более половины всей территории страны подвергается сходу снежных лавин, которые создают чрезвычайные ситуации на горных дорогах. Более 5000 оползней считаются активными на сегодняшний день в Кыргызстане. Около 509 населенных пунктов являются или могут пострадать от оползней и более 10000 семей живут в домах подверженных высокому риску.

 

Из общей территории сельскохозяйственных угодий, 10,7млн гектар, согласно данным Государственного агентства охраны окружающей среды и лесного хозяйства при Правительстве КР, более 88% признано деградированными и подверженными процессам опустынивания. 3/4 пахотного фонда страны подверглось вторичному засолению почв, и более половины пашни республики подвержено процессам водной и ветровой эрозии. Почти половина пастбищных территорий отнесена к категории деградированных, как с точки зрения состояния растительности, так и с точки зрения состояния почв.

 

Специалисты все больше признают, что экологические бедствия могут привести к перемещениям людей, оказавшихся в экономически неблагоприятных условиях. Так, миграционные процессы в Кыргызстане имеют сильный экологический фактор, так как проблемы окружающей среды влияют на миграцию, а перемещение больших групп людей отрицательно влияют на жизнь местного сообщества. Уникальность экологической миграции является то, что зачастую это не выбор, а вынужденная миграция, когда социальные сети, построенные на протяжении многих лет, уничтожаются, а стратегии жизнеобеспечения, унаследованные от многих поколений, становятся бессмысленными, культура, построенная на племенной идентичности и единстве, исчезает.

 

Организаторы круглого стола попытались вынести на обсуждение эти и другие вопросы экологической миграции. Международные эксперты сделали презентацию о ситуации в других странах Центральной Азии и практиках решения проблем экологической миграции в других странах мира.

 

По вопросам, связанным с проведением круглого стола, просим обращаться к Асамидиновой Айнуре, Программному менеджеру по миграции ТАЦ АУЦА по телефонам: рабочий - (0132) 664598 вн. 276, сотовый – 0777 869186, 0556 869187, или по электронной почте asamidinova_a@auca.kg

<< вернуться к списку новостей


Телефон: +996 (312) 915000 доп. 326

Email: tspc@auca.kg

Адрес: Кыргызстан, 720060, Бишкек, ул. Аалы Токомбаева, 7/6

 

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028