PLEASE VISIT OUR COVID-19 PAGE FOR ALL UPDATES

Online Learning

 

March 25

Faculty Resources from Bard College and Open Society University Network (OSUN)

These materials have been created by people who teach blended and on-line classes regularly within institutions in the OSUN network, and are organized around the following "How Do I" questions (with multiple documents and webinars for each to help Faculty through). 

 

  1. How do I transfer seminar-style teaching practices into an online environment?
  2. How do I create and maintain a sense of community in my online course?
  3. How do I keep students engaged when they are not gathering each week?
  4. How do I use writing for remote learning?
  5. How do I deliver an engaging online session?
  6. How do I share course content online?
  7. How do I structure low-tech assignments for remote teaching?
  8. How can I teach effectively using different online platforms?
  9. How do I teach remotely in the arts?
  10. How to I teach remotely in STEM?
  11. How do I teach remotely in the humanities?

 

For more helpful information, please look at the Course Continuity website of Bard College.

 

March 20

Dear Faculty,

You can find important instructions for the transition to distance learning mode here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hY5unS7aZr73zpozizC5iiGfPjoq9G0Q/view?usp=sharing

Please use your AUCA gmail account to get an access to this file.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at dl_feedback@auca.kg

Sincerely,

Office of the VPAA

 

March 17

Dear AUCA Faculty,

According to the decision of the Security Council of the Kyrgyz Republic about the need of quarantine for schools and high educational institutions, we inform you that AUCA extends Spring Break until March 28th. We will transfer to distance learning mode from March 30th.  Starting this date, all classes will be held online according to the established class schedule (i.e. the schedule remains unchanged) until subsequent notification.

  1. Distance learning mode requires well-coordinated activities of students, faculty and staff of the University. Starting March 17th, faculty members are required to take preparatory measures, namely:
  2. Prepare workplace where online classes will be conducted from, including a laptop/PC, high-speed and wireless internet connection, if necessary: headphones, speakers, a microphone, a camera. Please make every effort to provide yourself with the necessary technical equipment. In case of difficulties in resolving this issue, we ask you to inform office manager and head of your department about them by close of business March 18. The University, in its turn, is conducting systematic preparation to provide faculty with necessary resources.
  3. Two platforms will be used as the main tools of distance learning. The choice of these tools is due to the availability of a sufficient number of licenses for all AUCA faculty:
  • E-course (Moodle) – AUCA platform administered by CTLT;
  • WEBEX – platform designed for video conferencing, recording video lectures, seminars in real time.
  1. Currently, the working group on the transition to distance learning, together with IT and CTLT specialists, are working on:
  • providing teachers with access to the WEBEX program through a Google Account;
  • development of technical instructions;
  • and organization of trainings for transition to the distance learning mode.

Further instructions for transferring to distance learning will be sentl later.

 

Dear Faculty,

We want to emphasize that you are the key people who determine the goals and learning outcomes of your courses. CTLT, IT offices, office managers, and we will all help you achieve your goals using a new form of learning. The distance learning requires the adaptation of teaching and assessment methods. Therefore, over the next 10 days, you will need to analyze the syllabi of your courses and make necessary changes to transfer courses online, informing program managers and subsequently your students. We will provide you with all kinds of help and share tips and best practices.

Below we provide the resources of some leading US universities for transferring to distance learning:

http://teachremote.mit.edu/

https://kb.iu.edu/d/keep

https://keepteaching.duke.edu/

https://teachanywhere.stanford.edu/

 

We will keep you informed about changes and necessary measures. We ask you to be as responsive as possible towards the transition to a distance learning mode and the adaptation of your syllabi. In this volatile situation, we anticipate that probably we will finish the semester in distance learning mode.

Tomorrow we will send you the contacts of members of the working group whom you should contact in each particular case. We kindly ask you to inform them in a timely manner of difficulties and all emerging problems. All issues should be reconciled before March, 28.

Thank you very much for your cooperation. This is an extraordinarily difficult time, and collectively we will need to apply all of our intellectual and pedagogical resources to provide the best teaching outcomes. All of us will be learning on a day-to-day basis on how this works, so it is essential that we have very open lines of communication to make useful modifications as the semester goes on.

Sincerely,

Dr. Andrew C. Kuchins

President

 

Dr. Nurgul Ukueva

Vice President for Academic Affairs

 

March 16, 2020

Dear AUCA Faculty,

According to the decision of the Security Council of the Kyrgyz Republic about the need of quarantine for schools and high educational institutions and the decree of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Kyrgyz Republic #282/1 announced on March 14, 2020 (about premature holidays in schools and universities), we inform you that AUCA will be quarantined starting March 16, 2020 for the next 3 (three) weeks.

We are working on transfering classes to distance learning mode after the Spring Break. More detailed information about classes in remote mode will be provided a little later.

All the days of the quarantine will be considered as working days, wages for those days will be charged the full amount. All administrative work will go by online mode, we kindly ask you to be as accessible as possible by means of communication, for prompt resolution of issues. All financial documents, reports, memos will be coordinated online through e-mail messages.

Depts Heads, Program Coordinators, and heads of offices of the AUCA community should necessarily inform the faculty and staff, who do not have access to the AUCA mailbox, about all information on this letter.

We also inform you that the counseling service and consultations will be available for faculty and staff upon call and email requests. More detailed work instructions during quarantine will be sent later on. 

All international faculty should be in close contact with academic departments, program coordinators and embassy representatives located in Bishkek in case of any questions or need for assistance.

We will notify you of all possible changes and necessary measures if they occur.

We wish all and your families to stay safe and healthy!

Sincerely,

AUCA Administration

American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Tel.: +996 (312) 915000 + Еxt.
Fax: +996 (312) 915 028

Перейдите по ссылке, чтобы ознакомиться с новостями по поводу COVID-19

Онлайн обучение

 

15 апреля

 

Уважаемые преподаватели!

Мы хотели бы проинформировать вас о том, что АУЦА располагает 300 лицензиями ZOOM.

Если Вам необходима лицензия для использования ZOOM в процессе онлайн обучения, пожалуйста, свяжитесь с Жамилёй Ирсалиевой, направив Ваш запрос на irsalieva_z@auca.kg

Вы также можте ознакомиться с тем как использовать ZOOM ЗДЕСЬ. Другие видео материалы доступны по ЭТОЙ ССЫЛКЕ.

Тренинги по использованию платформы ZOOM будут организованы, начиная с 17 апреля.

Подробная информация по поводу тренингов выслана вам на почту АУЦА. 

С уважением,

Офис VPAA

 

20 марта

 

Уважаемые преподаватели,

Пройдя по данной ссылке, вы можете ознакомиться с важными инструкциями по переходу в дистанционный режим обучения: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1V0Vu3N47wrQDMTRjAroBsXcG7NdKpp-p/view?usp=sharing

Используйте свой gmail аккаунт АУЦА для получения доступа к файлу.

При возникновении вопросов, напишите нам на почту: dl_feedback@auca.kg

 

С уважением,

Офис VPAA

 

17 марта 

Уважаемые преподаватели АУЦА,

 

В связи с решением  Совета Безопасности КР о закрытии ВУЗов на карантин, мы уведомляем вас о том, что АУЦА продлевает весенние каникулы для студентов до 28 марта 2020 г. Мы переходим на дистанционный режим обучения с  30 марта 2020 г. С этого времени все  занятия будут проходить согласно установленному расписанию (т.е. расписание занятий остается неизменным) в режиме онлайн до последующих уведомлений.

 

  1. Дистанционный режим обучения предполагает скоординированные действия студентов, преподавателей и сотрудников университета. Начиная с сегодняшнего дня  со стороны преподавателей требуется предпринять подготовительные меры, а именно:
    1. Подготовить рабочее место, откуда будут вестись онлайн занятия, включая ноутбук/стационарный компьютер, высокоскоростной и бесперебойный доступ в интернет, при необходимости - наушники, колонки, микрофон, камеру. Просим приложить максимальные усилия для обеспечения себя необходимым техническим оборудованием. В случае возникновения сложностей в решении данного вопроса, просим вас уведомить об этом офис менеджеров и руководителей программ до 18 марта включительно. Университет в свою очередь ведет планомерную подготовку по обеспечению преподавателей необходимыми ресурсами.
    2. В качестве основных инструментов онлайн-обучения будут использоваться две основные платформы. Выбор данных платформ обусловлен имеющимся в наличии достаточным количеством лицензий для всех преподавателей АУЦА:  
  • E-course (Moodle)- основная платформа АУЦА, работу которой администрирует офис CTLT;
  • WEBEX - платформа, предназначенная для проведения видеоконференций, записи видео лекций, семинаров в режиме реального времени.
  1. В настоящее время рабочая группа по переходу на дистанционное обучение совместно с IT и CTLT специалистами работает над:
  • обеспечением преподавателей доступом к программе WEBEX через Google Account, 
  • разработкой технических инструкций,
  • и организацией тренингов для перехода в режим дистанционного обучения

Дальнейшие инструкции по переходу на дистанционный режим обучения будут высланы  ближайшее время.

 

Уважаемые преподаватели,

 

Хотим подчеркнуть, что вы являетесь основными лицами, определяющими цели и результаты обучения ваших курсов. CTLT, IT офисы, офис менеджеры,  и все мы будем помогать вам в достижении ваших целей, используя уже новую форму обучения. Новая форма обучения требует адаптации методов преподавания и оценки. Поэтому, в течение последующих 10 дней вам необходимо будет провести анализ учебной программы ваших курсов, силлабусов,  и внести необходимые изменения для перевода курсов в онлайн режим, проинформировав руководителей программ и в последующем ваших студентов. Мы будем оказывать Вам всевозможную помощь и делиться советами, лучшими примерами.

 

Ниже предлагаем ресурсы некоторых ведущих университетов США для перехода на дистанционное обучение:

http://teachremote.mit.edu/

https://kb.iu.edu/d/keep

https://keepteaching.duke.edu/

https://teachanywhere.stanford.edu/

 

Мы будем продолжать уведомлять вас обо всех изменениях и необходимых мерах. 

 

Просим вас максимально ответственно отнестись к переходу на дистанционный режим обучения и адаптации учебных программ. В условиях неустойчивой ситуации, высока вероятность того, что режим дистанционного обучения продлится до конца семестра.

 

Завтра вам будут высланы контактные данные членов рабочей группы, к которым вы сможете обратиться за помощью по различным вопросам. Просим вас своевременно информировать о трудностях и возникающих проблемах. Все вопросы в обязательном порядке должны быть урегулированы до 28 марта 2020 года. 

 

Спасибо большое за Ваше участие. В это чрезвыйчайно трудное время нам необходимо использовать все наши интеллектуальные и педагогические ресурсы для обеспечения наилучших результатов обучения. Все мы будем ежедневно учиться тому, как это работает, поэтому очень важно, чтобы у нас были открытые линии коммуникации для внесения необходимых изменений в течение семестра.

С уважением,

Эндрю Качинс

Президент

 

Нургуль Укуева

Вице Президент по Академическим Вопросам

 

 

 

16 марта 2020 года

Уважаемые преподаватели АУЦА,

В связи с решением Совета Безопасности КР о закрытии школ и ВУЗов на карантин и приказом Министерства образования и науки КР № 282/1 от 14 марта 2020 г. (о преждевременных каникулах в школах и вузах), мы уведомляем вас о том, что с 16 марта 2020 года АУЦА закрыт на карантин сроком на 3 (три) недели.

Идет подготовка по переводу занятий на дистанционный режим обучения после окончания весенних каникул.  Более подробная информация о занятиях в дистанционном режиме будет предоставлена чуть позже.

Все дни карантина будут считаться как рабочие дни, заработная плата за эти дни будет начисляться в полном размере. Вся административная работа переходит в онлайн-режим, просим вас максимально быть доступными по средствам связи, для оперативного решения вопросов. Все финансовые документы, рапорты, мемо будут согласовываться онлайн посредством e-mail писем.

Руководители подразделений, координаторы программ, руководители офисов АУЦА должны в обязательном порядке донести информацию данной рассылки до преподавателей  и сотрудников, не имеющих доступ к почте АУЦА. 

Все иностранные преподаватели должны поддерживать постоянный контакт со своими академическими департаментами, программными координаторами и представителями посольств, находящихся в Бишкеке, в случае возникновения необходимости в оказании помощи.

Также доводим до вашего сведения что для всех желающих будет оказана психологическая консультация.

Позже будут высланы более подробные инструкции работы во время карантина.

Мы будем уведомлять вас о всех изменениях и необходимых мерах дополнительно.

Желаем здоровья вам и вашим близким!

 

С уважением, Администрация АУЦА




American University of Central Asia
7/6 Aaly Tokombaev Street
Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic 720060

Тел.: +996 (312) 915000 + Вн.
Факс: +996 (312) 915 028